If I Only Could

The days are short

The nights are long

The sun is shy

The moon is gone

I find it hard

To live without

Sunshine

I drive west

On highway one

Hoping I’d catch

A glimpse of light

Before the fall

Of the night

It gives me hope

It helps me stay

On the long path

It takes away

Some of the grey

That surrounds the town

Up and down

They say

Have your own

Light

Carry it with you

Wherever you go

I used to have one

It’s now gone

Before I’m done

The eyes are wet

The time is set

You cannot predict

You could only guess

Hit and miss

Go back in time

Leapfrog to the future

You shall always end up

Here and now

The eyes are wet

Look right, look left

Fail the test

Leave the nest

You know the rest!

I wish I could

Go back in time

The words don’t rhyme

When you’re out of time

I wish I could

I only would

Change few events

Hug few people

Have a heart-to-heart

Morning talk

With my Folks

Feel the peace

Of their presence

If I only could

I would

Give me your hand

Don’t be sad

Walk with me

Let us be

One again

We do not know

When we shall go

We do not know

Where to flow

We only know

What’s here and now

Everything else

Does only reside

Deep inside

The hallways

Of our minds…

 

 

 

 

About The Soaring Eagle

Entrepreneur, Investor, Solution Architect, Award-winning poet, Published author
This entry was posted in Path and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to If I Only Could

  1. salma says:

    What is intersting about this poem in particular and what distinguishs it from others, is its subtle, night-time mood, which is a perfect stage for the genuine portrayal of emotion witnessed in the poem. The reader can easily envision the setting, taste the mood, as if he were an invisible companion of the poet. I like this one 😉

  2. revodiary11 says:

    رحلة النشر شاقة ومؤلمة ايضا..كالولادة، لكنها تستحق

  3. revodiary11 says:

    من زمان ما قرأنا لك يا يمان.. قصيدة جميلة جدا جدا..كل شطرة أو اثنتين صورة مؤثرة، أو فكرة تستحق التأمل… قريباً جدا تتحقق الآمال إن شاء الله .. وتصبح الأبيات حديثاً دافئا- حزينا، لا بأس، من الماضي.

Leave a Reply

