Salma

It was a cold Sunday afternoon

In Liverpool

The phone rang

At the other end

Of the line

There were

Good news

Salma had arrived

Salma had survived

The long journey

To this life, alive

I missed that moment

But since then

She found herself

A very special place

In my heart

Even when my heart

Was opened

She stayed there

Alright

Salma will leave

One day

But her place

In my broken heart

Shall remain

Intact

I can’t think of that day

I can’t see our house

Without her

It wouldn’t be full

Will she remember me?

Will she continue to be

The Princes of my Sea?

The first flower

In our garden?

A very beautiful

And different

Flower!

Which I always water

With my love, my care

Is life fair?

I’ve given her

Roots

To grow

Wings

To fly

So she would leave

The nest

At the sunset

Of my joy

Now all I want

Is to hug her

To my chest

Before she leaves

The nest…

About The Soaring Eagle

Entrepreneur, Investor, Solution Architect, Award-winning poet, Published author
This entry was posted in Children, Dissapointment, Family, The End and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Salma

  1. AMS says:

    Years ago, when our first daughter got engaged, it became very difficult for me to even imagine her leaving….I was reminded by a very special person that what seems to be the “sunset” of my life is the dawn of hers, and I ought to give her every reason to enjoy that stage and to be ready for her “sunrise”.. It gave the whole experience a completely different spin, and eventually I came to peace about her departure.

    • Thanks!

      Engagement was not the inspiration behind this poem. Rather, I felt all of a sudden that I miss her so much, and imagined her leaving. The poem was an expression of emotions at the time. I’m not sure what had ignited them.

      But yes, eventually they will all leave, and we need to come to terms with that, silently. Moreover, as you said, part of our mission is to help them have the best possible “sunrise” ISA…

      Appreciate the contribution!

      Yaman

      The Soaring Eagle

Leave a Reply

